Australian state border restrictions guide: What you need to know about where you want to go

Hitting the road? Here's what you need to know. Picture: Shutterstock
Hitting the road? Here's what you need to know. Picture: Shutterstock

Australia is slowly emerging from COVID-19 restrictions - much to the relief of many of us who are itching to travel again.

But exactly where we can go and which state borders are open remain a tricky issue. Here's a state-by-state travel guide.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria has been temporarily shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but travellers should book their accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camping sites are mostly now open.

NSW museums, galleries and libraries are open. While pubs, clubs, cafes and restaurants are open, the rule of one person per four square metres applies and additional limits apply to pubs.

The exception is Lord Howe Island, which has a travel ban until August 3. Only local residents and essential workers are permitted to enter Lord Howe Island and they will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory is scheduled to open its borders on July 17 and all visitors must complete an arrival border crossing application. Anyone coming from COVID-19 hotspots is strongly advised to reconsider their travel plans.


Borders in Queensland are open to most interstate travellers. However, any person who has been in Victoria or designated hotspot areas in Sydney in the 14 days prior to attempting to enter Queensland will not be allowed in.

Holidaymakers travelling by road, rail or air must apply for a border pass prior to entry to Queensland.

Tourism experiences can operate for up to 50 people and guests have to observe the 1.5-metre physical distancing rule. Travellers are also advised to pack hand sanitiser and disinfecting wipes.

Accommodation, restaurants, cafes, pubs, nightclubs and RSL clubs are open with social distancing observed.

South Australia

Visitors from the ACT and NSW are required to self-quarantine for 14 days, while the Victorian border is closed. Travellers from other states are able to enter without any restrictions.


Holidaying in Tasmania is discouraged at this time and the border is closed to Victorians. All travellers to Tasmania must quarantine for 14 days at a government accommodation facility.


Travel to Victoria is not advised at this time; its borders to NSW and SA are closed. Melbourne and Mitchell Shire are under Stay at Home Directions.

Western Australia

Borders to WA remain closed to interstate travellers.

You might also enjoy...