Tura men's golf honours shared

Tura Beach men played a Stableford event on Saturday off the Blue Tees for the John Madigan Trophy. A large field of players took to the course, which is improving week by week after recent coring and scarifying. 

The days benign conditions with little to no wind at times, resulted in some good scores being recorded. Steve Baulman in A Grade and Ian Scott in C Grade shared the trophy honours, both carding 40 stableford points and also taking out their individual Grades. Ian is in good form after also having a podium finish on Tuesday.

Wayne Hicks won B Grade with 39 points, playing solid golf until hitting his ball into the dam on the 18th and wiping the hole to unfortunately take him out of contention for the Madigan Trophy. 

Runners up in A Grade were Chris Morgan and Stan Ebbage both with 39 points while Simon Longmore from Wagga Wagga Golf Club took second in B Grade with 38 points from Alan Brown with 37. Barney Anderson was second in C Grade with 37 points just ahead of Murray Crooks with 36. 

Nearest the Pins went to I Alexander on hole 3, D Fleet on 5, L Murphy on 9 also taking the Golden Shot, C Bradley on 13 and G Skelton on 17. The Ball Competition went down to 33 points.

Tuesdays also saw a Stableford event but off the shorter white tees that produced some very high scores. The day’s honours went to Bill Eaton in A Grade with 44 points, which should result in a few strokes coming off his handicap.

Next best for the day were Glen Fisher and Don W Sinclair both in C Grade carding 43 points, followed by Ian Scott  with 42 points and Stan Burns with 41 both in B Grade and then came Brad Ross in A Grade with 40 points. 

The Ball Competition was high with an above par 37 points as the cut off. Next Saturday will be a Stoke Round off the Championship Tees for the October Monthly Medal.